~~Swap TPI to Carb .....

I have 92 Z28 that I just bought a 406 crate motor for. Its a motor primarily set up for carb, however the manufacturer said it would work for my car if I choose to keep it fuel injected. All I would have to do is re-map the computer. With WBD and/or LMT I figured no problem.

So now I got the motor in my garage, I took the intake manifold they gave me off & put my TPIS Miniram intake on to size it up. The intake bolt-holes line up perfect but the intake ports are mis-aligned. The ports are equally sized (height & width) but the ports on the manifold sit lower than the cylinder head ports do.

So I guess I have two options....figuring out how to solve that mis-alignment problem or going carb on my new motor while selling my Miniram intake with my 58mm BBK TB. (any takers?) lol

That being said, whats all involved with converting a computer to carb? Is it as easy as im thinking in my head? (go easy on me, i'm not too technically advanced when it comes to this) New throttle/kickdown cables and adjust, buy a vacuum advanced distributor, toggle switch operated cooling fans and what else? I already have a toggle switch hooked up to the "Lock-up" option on my torque converter. (700R4 auto)

Thanks for your input......
    -Mike

Senior Member..now yer posting! outlawgibbs's Avatar
    Youll need an adjustable fuel pressure regulator to drop the pressure down far enough for the carb, unless you want to drop the tank and remove the fuel pump. I dropped the tank on mine and would never do it again. I also converted a 2.8 to a V-8 so it was a bit more work. Other then that its pretty easy

Post whore Lawn Pac Champion Irish's Avatar

~~Swap TPI to Carb .....

How did you determine that that runners do not line up?
    Last edited by Irish; 11-21-2012 at 06:19 PM.