Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

GLD Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

QUESTION: "How much does it cost to race at Great Lakes Dragaway??"

Answer: On weeknights, the cost to race is $35.00 per driver. On weekends, the cost is $40.00 per driver. Spectators pay $12.00 to enter the grounds during the week and $15-$20 on weekends.

QUESTION: "I'm new to this sport, what do I need to bring with me so I can race my car?"

Answer: Long pants are a requirement. You also cannot race with "muscle shirts" or sleeveless shirts. T-Shirts are acceptable. You will need to bring a helmet if your car is capable of running 13.99 or faster. If you aren't sure, bring a helmet anyway. We also offer helmet rentals at the track, however we cannot guarantee that there will be any left when you arrive. You must be sure that your car has a "coolant catch can" which is basically an over-flow bottle that catches antifreeze/coolant should your car boil-over. Must cars come standard with a catch-can, however, older cars may not have one. Double check this before you drive to the track. You also need to be sure you are wearing long pants and no "sleeveless" type shirts allowed.

QUESTION: "What do I do once I get to GLD??? I have no idea what I am supposed to do or where I am supposed to go!"